100 Happy Days: Day 22

Hmm…Tuesday…I think Tuesday was a fairly uneventful day…

looks at calendar

Yup, there was basically nothing going on that day. I actually remember, because my mom was home, like, all day. Which was…OH! We went to the library!

Yay.

giggles

The library.

I love. our library. It’s…beautiful. Huge. An amazing piece of architecture. And has so many books. Seriously. So many. And it’s got this little gallery, with art, and some little tables for people to sit and study or work, and a patio where you can sit, or get married (yeah, people get married at the library. I want it. I want to get married at the library.) and there’s comfy chairs, and tables, all over the place, and a fireplace upstairs, and…gah. I love it.

I’m basically only ever in the children’s section, because those are basically the only books worth reading. xD But seriously, I get books for school occasionally, and sometimes Tintin or Calvin and Hobbes, but otherwise, I stick in the children’s section. Most of my favourite authors are technically “children’s authors”. Kate DiCamillo, Gary Schmidt, Avi, Clare Vanderpool, Terry Pratchett…as well as series like Percy Jackson and Trixie Belden (Trixie, anyone? Anyone? Trixie Belden is my childhood. Way better than Nancy Drew.). I counted yesterday, and I currently have…let me see, twelve books checked out from the library. Yep. #somanybooks

So, on Tuesday, what was making me happy, was our library, and books.

I already told you about our library. It’s a wonderful place to study, write or just chill and read. It’s an actually amazingly beautiful building (a Carnegie library, actually. yep.) and one of my favourite places in the whole world. Because books+beauty=my happy place.

Books are kind of amazing, guys. I made a huge stack of all the books that I’m currently reading, have from the library, am borrowing from my friend and want to read (or re-read). Actually, I made for stacks, one for each category. There were. so many books. I’ve set aside the books that I want to read, but that I own and thus can read them any time. I also set aside a few books that I had started, but either hadn’t gotten very far into, or had read already (i.e. Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre, which I’ve read at least four times each). So now I have my twelve books from the library, something like eight or nine books that I’m borrowing from my friend Abigail (of these, I’m currently reading The Book Thief), as well as four or five books that we own and I have started, and want to continue with.

I guess the three that I’m working on most right now are The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (I am loving this book so much.), Crispin: At the Edge of the World by Avi (book two in the Crispin trilogy. Really loving this one, too.) and Emma by Jane Austen (I have read this one before, at least once, but it’s been a while, and since I’m watching Emma Approved, I figured now would be a good time to read it.).

I think there may be at least one book review in the near-ish future. I actually started one for Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool (one of my newest favourite books), but since I’ve never really written a review before (except that one about Caribou…that was for Cover Story.)…well, it’s not coming as easily as I expected it would. 😛 Oh, well, a book review shall be posted…this month!

And that was day 22 of 100 Happy Days.

What do you love about your library? What are some of your favourite books, series or authors?

—Ari—

I’ll be gone from Monday afternoon to Saturday afternoon next week:/ I might be able to work in a post before I leave, and maybe the day I leave. I’ll write up the rest of the days while I’m at camp, so I’ll remember what exactly made me happy each day. But until I leave, I’ll be trying very hard to post every day!

Leave a Reply

